Strings

You play a soft and soothing

lullaby

When my strings are present to the public eye

But I know

Those sweet notes are just for show

For when the doors are closed

You play a sourer note

You bash the guitar

A bruise

A bruise

You strum so hard

You win

I lose

You pluck until your fingers bleed

You bite

You damage

To fill your need

I watch you play nothing

But love songs all day

But this is not love.

It’s not love, I’m afraid

You kick and punch until my strings snap

So beautiful and precious

The songs you used to play

But I was beaten and broken

Now I play only the blues

Mmmm Watcha Saaay....?

